Testimonials

Testimonials

Mardi Himal – A Must Do Trek

Rachel and Megan, USA

We had an unbelievable adventure completing the Mardi Himal Trek in January 2023. Our guide Rajendra (Raj), and porter Rajesh  were professional, fun, energetic, and knowledgeable about not only the trek we were on but about many others in the area.

The whole team prepared us ahead of time and answered all of our questions, so we were prepared with the correct equipment for the winter months. We were actually over-prepared if anything.

The whole experience was terrific from start to finish. This was a wonderful experience, and I would recommend using Nepal Hiking Team to any of my friends or family. A must-do during a trip to Nepal!!!

Stop Looking and Choose Nepal Hiking Team!

Tamar Nitzan, USA

I’m so happy I went with Nepal Hiking Team. From the moment I arrived at the hotel, I knew I made the right choice. The hotel was in a great area. Bars, restaurants, clubs, shops were all within a 10 minute or less walk from the hotel.

I was doing this solo and in a market where there were tons of trekking companies to choose from, Nepal Hiking Teams website immediately stood out as professional and I’m glad I went with them. Their quick responses to emails and questions was amazing. If it was a decent time to be awake in Nepal, they were responding to emails.

From the arrival at the airport, they came to pick me up, and took me to the hotel. The owner of the company Ganga, was there waiting to greet me and to give me info on the following days. The next morning Ganga was there again, introduced the trekkers to each other before we went out on our included city tour. There was four of us so it was a nice small group.

The city tour was great. That day showed us how beautiful Kathmandu was. The guide for the tour, Ramesh, was outstanding. His knowledge and ability to answer all of our questions was amazing. His friendliness and professionalism were also very noticeable. Genuine people like Ramesh stand out and are not easy to forget. The next morning was the big day.

We met our guide for the trek Dhurba. Dhurba was an amazing guide. He was very knowledgable of the trek and was overall a good person. Any mountain we pointed at, he knew the name and height. It was very impressive. I appreciate going on this trek with Dhurba. Dhurba showed me that my body could handle way more than I ever thought it could. He always looked out for us. He never pushed us to do more than we could do. Although his body was used to every part of this trek, he knew that people from sea level needed to take it slower and he took that very seriously.

I feel very lucky to have had Dhurba as our guide. He always had a smile on his face. As a group, we spent Christmas and New Year together. It definitely felt like a little family. For Christmas he gifted each of us a Snickers. That was honestly one of the most amazing and needed gifts I had ever received.

Huge tip is to take trekking poles seriously! On our descent, I stopped using them and was putting a lot of pressure on my knees. That led to me walking the last day and a half in pain. Dhurba did everything he could to try and help me out. He mentioned different forms of transportation to get me down, I told him that I would walk. He insisted many times that he could carry my backpack down for me and I refused. I wanted to finish strong. But that did not go unnoticed.

Dhurba was there in the case of anything happening, and I really appreciate that. He was ready to help, he was ready to carry my bag, he was ready to wrap my knees, he had sprays for joint pain, he had vitamins, medications, he had everything that helped me feel safe in the situation. Dhurba was the best guide I could’ve asked for.

There were many times where I felt slow and as if we were running out of time for the day and instead of rushing us, Dhurba would actually tell us to stop, take a seat and drink some water. Dhurba did not feel like some boring guide we did not connect with. He felt like one of us. We connected and laughed with him throughout the trek. Hopefully you get someone as good as Dhurba.

Our porters Nima and Purna were great as well. They always greeted us in such a friendly manner with smiles on their faces when they saw us and we let them know that there would be no hike to Everest Basecamp without them. They are truly superhuman with the weight that they take up and down during the trek. As I said, without them, we do not make it to Basecamp so I am very grateful for everything they did for us.

Nepal Hiking Team stood out when it came to accommodations on the trek. Obviously we weren’t going to be in 5 star hotels on our way up but they made sure to keep us in the best tea houses possible. This stood out when we talked to other trekkers whose companies accommodations were so bad, that they refused to stay at their tea houses.

There was actually a couple we spoke to who told us all about their bad experiences with the tea houses which led to them saying something about it to their company and that led them to stay at the same tea house that we stayed at, which they said was much better in every way. Another big part that should be taken seriously when considering a trekking company is the flights from and to Kathmandu.

We got really lucky with the weather on our trek. No clouds ever while going up. On the way down was a different story. The weather started getting bad with fog. So bad that we had to stay an extra day at Lukla airport since planes couldn’t fly in. That day really made Nepal Hiking Team stand out. The only way out was through helicopters and that seemed like a mess for everyone trying to get down. Everyone was stressed and scrambling making calls and trying to find a helicopter.

My team had an extra day, so we just waited it out. Other people were trying to leave immediately and helicopters were getting expensive due to demand. People were paying high prices, some were getting scammed, it was a mess. When our time came and we decided to get a helicopter the following day, the process was simple. Ganga was able to arrange that quickly for us and it was stress free. The price was also much cheaper than what other people around us were paying.

In the middle of a stressful mess, Nepal Hiking Team was able to remove the stress, give us answers and make everything easy for us. It did not seem the same for others. Overall, I kept telling myself how happy I was that I chose Nepal Hiking Team. From the owner, to the guides and porters, it was an amazing experience.

If you have found Nepal Hiking Team it’s time to stop looking. You have found the right company. I’m sure there are many great things I’m forgetting at the moment but just know you will not regret your choice. Thank you to all of Nepal Hiking Team. My experience and your service will never be forgotten.

Annapurna Circuit Dec 2022

Lachlan, Australia

I completed the 14 day Annapurna Circuit early December 2022, thank you so much to Surya and Rabin, who both went out of their way to make this trip, that I’d been planning so long,and  memorable. They were always checking in with me during the hike to make sure I was going ok and if I needed anything. It was wonderful to hear from Surya even after I left the trek, to make sure I’d made next destination Ok and wish me a Merry Christmas.

Nepal Hiking Team was great to deal with, answered all questions really quickly, and all plans happened as they said.
Fantastic experience, would do again, made easy by Nepal Hiking Team.

This review was originally published on Tripadvisor.

 

 

Annapurna Base Camp Trek December 2022

Rick Belliveau, Portland Oregon USA

Namaste! I highly recommend Nepal Hiking Team for your trekking adventure in the beautiful Himalayan Mountains of Nepal. This was my first trip to Nepal and additionally my first ever muli-day trek. Annapurna Base Camp Trek became a dream of mine about a year ago after my adult son made a trip out back in 2019.

Nepal Hiking Team made the trip much more enjoyable by facilitating rides to and from the airport in Kathmandu, answering any questions or concerns promptly and being courteous and helpful. Of course I have to give a shout out to my guide for the ABC trek Dipendra and also the porter Gakul!!! Dipendra did an exceptional job of making the trip as smooth as can be expected! In every village he booked me the best room available with mountain views, helped with ordering food and making sure I was comfortable.

On the trail Dipendra carefully monitored my condition and frequently checked in with how I was feeling. As it turned out I was able to keep a pretty good pace (I’m a 56 year old man in decent shape) and we arrived at Annapurna Base Camp a day ahead of schedule (which was fortunate because clouds moved in the next day). Gakul was very strong and always made sure my duffle bag was in my room when we arrived in the next village. Dipendra and Gakul also made the evening time fun by inviting me to play card games in the tea house common area.

If you get a chance learn the game Dumbal – it’s fun! Dipendra also guided me in Pokhara where we saw the peace pagoda, Hindu temple caves and the International Mountaineering Museum.

In conclusion, Ganga, Dipendra and Gakul with Nepal Hiking Team provided excellent service worth every dollar.

I will definitely use their services again when I return. I’m already thinking about Everest Base Camp or Manaslu Circuit!

Incredible adventure on the Manaslu Circuit

Jules, Sydney, Australia

Posted on Nov 22 | Trip Advisor Review

We completed the 15-day Manaslu Circuit trek with Nepal Hiking Team in late November 2022.

The scenery of the Manaslu region is stunning and far more beautiful than we had imagined. The weather was excellent! It did get cold but we had blue sky every day and no rain. There were three of us in our group and we only bumped into a few people along the trail. It was incredibly serene and this was a big reason we chose the Manaslu Circuit over Annapurna. We started our trek with a long drive to Machha Khola (which avoided some road sections if we had started in Soti Khola) and finished in Dharapani. In total, we did ten days of actual trekking which was really enjoyable.

Our guide was Ram and porters Namaraj, Sabin and Samir. They were all very professional, capable and polite. They made sure we had a good experience. It’s not the sort of trek where you are provided with lots of information about Nepal along the way, but Ram was always happy to answer questions and share information when we asked. Prior to departing on the trek Ganga had organised a day tour around Kathmandu where we learned about Nepalese culture and it’s well worth doing.

We were impressed by the communication and organisation of NHT during the booking process and our actual trip. Ganga was extremely helpful in answering all our questions and also assisted us to tailor our itinerary as we wanted to travel to Bandipur and Chitwan after the trek. We were collected from the airport we met Ganga and our guide the day before the trek which was nice. He even organised our transport back to Kathmandu airport a good two weeks after we finished the trek which we hadn’t expected but really appreciated.

We were happy with the accomodation before the trek (Woodapple Hotel) and we chose to stay there where we returned to Kathmandu. On the trek you stay in tea houses. The quality of tea houses on the trek varied but for the most part were very nice. We enjoyed most of the food, it’s best to eat the vegetarian Nepalese/ local options rather than western choices – they are delicious, especially the Dahl baht and momos. Our favourite tea houses were in Namrung, Lho and Samdo (the hot shower at Samdo for 500 baht was money well spent) and our least favourite were Samagaun (a shame as you spend two nights there) and Dharamasla. You won’t get much cell/wifi coverage (which is quite nice) but you can buy a warmish shower at most tea houses for between 250 and 500 rupee. We brought our own warm sleeping bags and pillows which we appreciated as the cleanliness of extra blankets and pillows in tea houses was often lacking (Nepal Hiking Team can also supply a sleeping bag and down jacket but we chose to bring our own).

Overall we loved our experience. We would be happy to book with Nepal Hiking Team again and 100% recommend the Manaslu Circuit as an incredible adventure.

Tips: I’d suggest bringing your own food (eg that you can add hot water to) for the tea house at Dharamasla as it was extremely basic and you don’t want to risk food poisoning the night before the Pass. Biodegradable wet wipes, toilet paper, a life straw, water sanitation tablets and plenty of hand sanitiser are also suggested! Drink lots of water to help with acclimatisation.

Superb 5-Star Trekking Experience

David Reyer, United States of America

Dec 2022 | From Tripadvisor

I recently completed the Langtang Valley Trek with the help of Nepal Hiking Team. From my initial communications with Ganga, I could tell that I was in good hands. He was very responsive and listened carefully to the specific requests I had.

My guide for the trek was Dhurba. He did a superb 5-star job, allowing me to keep my own pace but also keeping me on schedule. He was very knowledgeable and was able to provide insights on the trek I would have missed out on had I chosen to truly trek solo. Towards the end of the trek I did not feel well from the altitude, and Dhurba made sure I had whatever I needed to feel better. He truly cared and wanted to see me succeed. I felt that I not only had a guide, but made a friend along the way.

Even though it was not initially part of our coordinated plans, Ganga was so kind as to arrange a driver to transport me from my hotel to the airport when I left Kathmandu free of charge.

I would not hesitate to recommend Nepal Hiking Team to anyone looking to explore Nepal and the surrounding area. Great job, gentlemen. Thanks again to Ganga and Dhurba!

The trekking of our lifes! Best travel agency and best guide!

Larissa Ferrari, Curitiba, Brazil

Nov 2022 | From TripAdvisor

We just got back from Everest Base Camp (with Ama Dablam base camp also) and I can say that it was the best trip of my life. The trekking is heavy (much more than I imagined) and prior preparation is required, but despite the difficulty it was wonderful to spend 14 days in the middle of the Himalayas. Nepal Hiking Team agency was perfect from start to finish, all our demands were met. Our family members needed to return before the end (they used the World Nomads insurance that sent a helicopter) and the agency organized all the bureaucracy, we didn’t bother with anything.

Our guide NARAYAN was more than perfect, he was not just a guide, but a friend, a travel companion. Super sweet, polite, he knew everything there, he was the best guide I’ve ever had considering all the trips I’ve done. Porters were also amazing! I strongly recommend the agency, I saw many people who did it on their own and had health problems and had difficulty in claiming insurance.

There I realized that it is very common to have to change itinerary or even return earlier, and having an agency that organizes everything for you is essential. I came back extremely satisfied with having chosen Nepal Hiking Team.

Amazing trip to EBC that we will always cherish!

RKLA, Los Angeles, CA41 contributions

Nov 2022 | Posted on TripAdvisor

We did a private trekking to EBC with Nepal Hiking Team the first week of November 2022. It was an amazing trip that we will always cherish! Our experience with the Nepal Hiking Group was A+. From Ganga the owner of Nepal Hiking Group to their porter Chandru did an outstanding job in planning everything perfectly. From airport pick-up on the first day to the departure from Kathmandu on the last day was done on time.

Our trekking guide Arun, his assistant Deepak, and porters Dhan and Chandru made sure that our team of 4 not only succeeded in reaching the base camp but also accommodated all our unending requests enthusiastically never once losing their patience. The help extended by them on the trail and at the tea houses is greatly appreciated. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. One example is that the porters Chandru and Dhan always returned to the trail after dropping their bags in the tea houses and then carried our bags if needed and gave us a helping hand in climbing steep hills etc.

Our guide Arun was very knowledgeable and a patient gentleman. Some other guides we met on the trail told us that he is one of the top 10 guides in Nepal. They definitely were not exaggerating, Nepal Hiking Group made arrangement for us to stay at the Woodapple Hotel in Thamel area of Kathamandu and we were extremely happy with the upgraded rooms provided and the food at the hotel. We highly recommend engaging Nepal Hiking Group to anyone thinking of hiking to EBC.